Election 2017: Which MPs are going and who might return?

George Osborne George Osborne, the former chancellor once feted as the successor to David Cameron as prime minister, has announced he will not seek re-election as an MP. But who else is stepping down and who hopes to return?

George Osborne

Mr Osborne was elected as MP for the Conservatives in Tatton, Cheshire, in 2001.

After roles as shadow chief secretary to the Treasury and shadow chancellor, he became chancellor in 2010 when the coalition government with the Lib Dems came to power.

He was widely seen as one of the favourites to succeed his friend David Cameron as the next Conservative prime minister.

But following the vote to leave the EU in June 2016, Mr Cameron stood down as leader and Mr Osborne was sacked as chancellor the following month when Theresa May became the new leader.

He has since taken jobs as the editor of the London Evening Standard newspaper and for the fund manager BlackRock, among others, prompting calls for him to stand down as an MP, which he had resisted.

Announcing his decision not to seek re-election in the 8 June election, the 45-year-old said he was stepping down – “for now”.

Alan JohnsonImage copyright PA

Regarded by some in Westminster as the best leader Labour never had, Mr Johnson was a former home secretary and health secretary, serving in the governments of Gordon Brown and Tony Blair.

A former postman and union official, he was elected as MP for Hull West and Hessle in 1997.

He ran for the job of deputy to Gordon Brown in 2007 but was pipped to the post by Harriet Harman by the slenderest of margins.

Mr Johnson was seen as a possible successor to Mr Brown but ruled himself out of the contest in 2010, instead backing David Miliband, who was ultimately defeated by his brother Ed.

Mr Johnson led Labour’s fight to remain in the European Union but clashed with Jeremy Corbyn, claiming that the leader’s office had been “working against” the party’s efforts.

Speaking about his decision not to fight the next election, Mr Johnson said it was “best for the party”.

Other MPs known to be not standingTom Blenkinsop – Labour (Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland) elected in 2010Iain Wright – Labour (Hartlepool) elected in 2004Pat Glass – Labour (North West Durham) elected in 2010Simon Burns – Conservative (Chelmsford) elected in 1987John Pugh – Lib Dem (Southport) elected in 2001Andrew Smith – Labour (Oxford East) elected in 1987Angela Watkinson – Conservative (Hornchurch and Upminster) elected in 2001The returning Lib Dems Sir Vince CableImage copyright Getty Images

Sir Vince, who served as former business secretary in the coalition government from 2010-2015, is one of a batch of Lib Dems who have confirmed they will stand again in the upcoming election.

A former Labour councillor, the 73-year-old was first elected as MP for Twickenham in 1997 but was defeated by Conservative Tania Mathias in 2015 after the Lib Dems lost dozens of seats.

Announcing his decision to stand again, Sir Vince said “Bring it on!”.

Sir Simon HughesImage copyright Getty Images

A former Lib Dem deputy leader and minister of state for justice and civil liberties in the coalition government, Sir Simon Hughes said he intends to be the party’s candidate to fight the Bermondsey and Old Southwark seat in south London, which he lost in 2015.

Making the announcement, the 65-year-old said: “In Bermondsey and north Southwark we are determined to win back the seat from Labour and really clear we can do so.”

Sir Ed DaveyImage copyright PA

Sir Ed, 51, is another Lib Dem heavyweight to announce their return to the political fray.

Confirming his intention to stand again for election, the former energy secretary in the coalition government told the Independent: “We will be the surprise in this election, we will do far better than people currently think.

“Clearly the Tories are going to hammer Labour. But we can take some [seats] back.”

He plans to attempt to retake his Kingston and Surbiton seat, which he held from 1997 until 2015.

Will they, won’t they?Ed BallsImage copyright PA

The former Labour shadow chancellor was one of the biggest surprise casualties of the 2015 general election.

Following his defeat, Mr Balls, 50, gained new-found fame during his 2016 stint in Strictly Come Dancing.

He has so far neither confirmed or denied if he will stand for election, but in 2016 he refused to rule out a return one day to politics, saying : “I’m not going to say to you I can’t imagine it” (being re-elected to Parliament).

David MilibandImage copyright Reuters

It is a long shot but there has been speculation about whether David Miliband might stand again.

The former foreign secretary under Gordon Brown was expected to become the leader of the Labour Party after Mr Brown stood down, but was surprisingly defeated by his brother Ed in 2010.

In 2013 he stepped down as MP for South Shields in Tyne and Wear to become president of the US humanitarian aid charity International Rescue Committee.

In February the 51-year-old said Labour was at its weakest point in half a century in an interview with the Times and declined to rule out a return to UK politics.

View the original article here


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s